Learning to fly – progress but also delays

Last Wednesday, after a couple more days on the training dunes, I took a major step in hang gliding training. I managed to leave the ground for a full 30 seconds, flying solo over the bottom of a grassy hill, the sea and the sand and landing on a beach – a full-on sensory experience that can’t be beaten, though one that I’m sure will seem trivial at the end of this year in comparison to the flying to come. For a much longer write-up, see page 4 of this forum thread.
 
The wind has been mocking me, being unfavourable for the last 4 days of my week off then returning to good for flying as I went back to work, but my frustrations are small right now compared to the people dealing with fires down south. I haven’t got much to say about that, that hasn’t been said already by everyone in the media. For now I just hope people recover the best they can.
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment