Freedom, freedom is coming, oh yes I know… Recovery day 37

In the past 24 hours, I have lost the plaster cast, gained a splint, bent and straightened my right arm through angles other than 90 degrees for the first time in 37 days, had an X-ray and follow-up examination by the surgeon, have had a proper shower for the first time in at least 37 days, and have had my biceps muscle, which feels as hard as a rock, subjected to various kinds of assault (but to help fix it) by a physiotherapist. This morning I could not straighten it to less than a 30 degree bend, but can now get it to just 15 degrees.

The surgeon says all is going well, and I’m spending a long time out of the splint in order to do the exercises which will help prevent bits of calcium forming in my muscles. According to the physio, prevention is far far preferable to cure for this one. But, if all goes well in my 3 appointments next week with her, I could be permanently out of the splint next Friday.

According to the surgeon, I cannot do anything short of falling over that will compromise the work he did. Thus it now feels like I don’t have a broken arm at all, just a very stiff one. But I must remember it is broken and to not stress it too much until it is fully repaired, and especially remember to not fall over. That is my mantra, for a while now.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment